10 February, 2024

Gilgandra won 2024 Brewery Shield

Played at Narromine’s Dundas Park, Gilgandra 5/67, bombed out the home side at 10/66.

By Lucie Peart

Gilgandra won 2024 Brewery Shield - feature photo

The Gilgandra and District Cricket Association representative team has won the 2023/24 Brewery Shield after a convincing win against the Narromine Bombers on Sunday, January 14.

Narromine won the toss and elected to bat first. Their score of 10/66 came in 30.2 overs with the top run scorers of Adam Davis 20, Cameron Collins 19, Heath Larance eight, and Tom Mason-wells four. It was Gilgandra’s Brandon Hammond who inflicted the most damage to Narromine’s chances. He was instrumental in seven of the 10 dismissals, collecting four for lbw, and including two golden ducks, two ducks, and a hat trick.

Gilgandra then made short work of their innings, getting to the required 67 runs at 19.5 overs.

Run scorers for the Gilgandra team were Nick Willoughby 17 (caught Liam Wherrit, bowled Tom Masonwells), James Glasson 12 (also caught Lachlan Reid, bowled Tom Masonwells), Brandon Hammond 10 (not out), Liam Zell seven, Matthew Everett (vice-captain) six, and Ashley Hazelton (captain) four.


Most Popular